Every figure shows its source. Where a source is missing, the number is a placeholder — and it is never written as fact.

By GamGemLast updated 22 Oct 2026

WoW Forever FAQ: the questions people ask, and what is actually established

Our own drawing of a fantasy skyline at dusk

World of Warcraft: Forever · Questions

What is World of Warcraft: Forever?

A third standing version of World of Warcraft, alongside retail and Classic, launching on 4 November 2026.

What this page will and will not do

World of Warcraft: Forever launches on 4 November 2026. These are the questions people search, each answered from a Blizzard post or a cited page, with the state of the answer attached.

No answer here is a prediction, datamined or leaked. Where sources disagree, we say so. Beta facts are labelled beta.

How settled is the answer

  • StatedThe publisher put it in its own material — a page, a store listing, a newswire post.
  • Said on recordA named person at the studio said it, on the record, in an interview rather than an announcement.
  • Shown, not statedVisible in published material, but never said in words.
  • Sources disagreeTwo published readings disagree, and neither has been settled.
  • Nobody has saidWe looked, and nobody has answered it. This is an answer, not a gap.
Questions tracked
89
Answered by the publisher
67
Nobody has said
5
Sources opened
45

Jump to

WoW Forever price, release date and packs

Dates and what you pay.

What is World of Warcraft: Forever?

Stated

A third standing version of World of Warcraft, alongside retail and Classic, launching on 4 November 2026.

Warcraft Wiki describes Forever as its own version of the game with a client separate from Classic Era, and lists its internal name as Camelot. Blizzard announced it for 4 November 2026. Because the name is shared, we say “WoW Forever” on every page so it is never mistaken for retail or Classic Era.

When is the WoW Forever release date?

Stated

4 November 2026.

Blizzard’s launch announcement, published on 12 September, gives 4 November 2026 at 15:00 Pacific time. Pre-purchase upgrades and the beta came first. The same-day pre-purchase post labels the time PST; the announcement page prints PDT in its summary line and PST in its body.

What time does WoW Forever launch in UTC and my time zone?

Stated

23:00 UTC on 4 November 2026 (15:00 Pacific).

Blizzard gives 15:00 Pacific. The United States leaves daylight time on 1 November 2026, so that is Pacific Standard Time, which is 23:00 UTC. In US Eastern time that is 18:00, in the UK 23:00, and in Central Europe 00:00 on 5 November. Our own conversion; check your clock against 23:00 UTC.

Is the launch time PST or PDT?

Sources disagree

Blizzard’s own posts have used both labels; the clock change on 1 November makes PST (23:00 UTC) the correct one.

Blizzard’s pre-purchase post and What’s Next recap say 3:00 p.m. PST, while the launch announcement’s summary line says 3:00 p.m. PDT (its body says PST). Daylight time in the US ends on 1 November 2026, three days before launch, so the arithmetic gives 23:00 UTC. Treat the UTC figure as the one to plan around.

Still open — Whether Blizzard corrects the label in the announcement.

Is WoW Forever free?

Stated

No. It needs an active subscription or Game Time on your World of Warcraft account.

Blizzard says access comes with a regular subscription or Game Time. No separate purchase is required to play. There are two exceptions: invitees redeeming an Invite-a-Friend launch code can play from 4 to 11 November without a subscription or Game Time, and the 21 October stress test was open to any WoW account without one.

Do I have to buy a pack to play WoW Forever?

Stated

No. The packs are optional pre-purchase upgrades; a subscription or Game Time is what gets you in.

Blizzard’s pre-purchase article presents the Skyborne Heroic, Skyborne Epic and Warcraft Forever Collection packs as upgrades. The launch announcement says a subscription or Game Time is enough for access.

How much do the WoW Forever packs cost?

Stated

Skyborne Heroic Pack $29.99, Skyborne Epic Pack $59.99, Warcraft Forever Collection $79.99.

Warcraft Tavern, reproducing Blizzard’s shop listing, gives these three US prices. Method lists the same three figures in euros for the EU (€29.99, €59.99, €79.99). Prices in other regions are not on the pages we read.

Still open — Prices outside the US and EU.

What does the Epic pack add over the Heroic pack?

Stated

Beta access, 30 days of Game Time, extra cosmetics, tabards, pets and two more Invite-a-Friend codes.

Blizzard: Epic is everything in Heroic plus beta access from 17 September, 30 days of Game Time added from 4 November, additional Veteran Adventurer–inspired cosmetics, tabards, pets and two more Invite-a-Friend codes (three in total). Blizzard’s page names the Veteran Adventurer’s Loyal Companion ground mount, the Outdoor Wear transmog set, the Lordaeron and Shen’dorei tabards, and Zergling, Panda, Diablo and Pachimari pets.

What is in the Skyborne Heroic Pack?

Stated

The Skyborne race and start, name reservation, a ground mount, two cosmetics, a toy, housing decor and one Invite-a-Friend code.

Blizzard lists access to the Skyborne race and the Zephras Isle starting experience; Early Name Reservation; the Cerulean Prideclaw ground mount (the riding skill must be bought in game); Shen’dorei Skyseer’s Garb; the Veteran Adventurer’s Rucksack; the Shen’dorei Windwell toy; Skyborne housing decor for modern WoW; and one Invite-a-Friend launch code. The mount, garb, rucksack and toy work in both modern WoW and Forever. The decor works only in modern WoW and needs the Midnight expansion.

What is in the Warcraft Forever Collection?

Stated

Everything in the Epic pack plus Warcraft III: Reforged, the Forsaken Kingdom campaign and Forsaken and Human figurine decor.

Blizzard calls it a limited-time bundle, on sale through 11 January 2027. Forsaken Kingdom is a new Warcraft III Reforged campaign set around the fall of Lordaeron, the founding of the Undercity and the first Forsaken Paladin; Blizzard also sells it separately, alone or in a combo with Warcraft III: Reforged. The figurines are housing decor for modern WoW. The Collection also carries beta access, 30 days of Game Time and three Invite-a-Friend codes.

Do the packs include Game Time?

Stated

Epic and the Collection include 30 days, added from 4 November. Heroic includes none.

Blizzard: 30 days of WoW Game Time are added to your account starting 4 November, and play beyond that period needs a subscription or more Game Time. Blizzard’s comparison table shows no Game Time in the Heroic pack.

Is there a physical Collector’s Edition?

Stated

Yes. It is sold through the Blizzard Gear Store, and a restock is due to ship in February 2027.

Blizzard’s post lists a Warcraft Forever Collection digital code, a 13-inch Dwarf and Bear statue, a Zephras Isle mousepad, art prints, collectible pins and a companion journal. Restock orders ship and arrive after launch, with one copy per household on the Blizzard Gear Store. Method reports €150 plus shipping in the EU.

Still open — The US price.

Until when can I buy the Warcraft Forever Collection?

Stated

Until 11 January 2027.

Blizzard’s pre-purchase article calls the Warcraft Forever Collection a limited-time bundle and says it is available through 11 January 2027. It gives a date only, not an hour, so do not leave the purchase to the last day. The Collection adds Warcraft III: Reforged and the Forsaken Kingdom campaign to the Epic pack.

Still open — The hour the sale closes.

When can I reserve my character name?

Stated

From 27 October to 3 November 2026, with any pack, for up to 3 characters.

Blizzard: Early Name Reservation is included with any upgrade purchase, runs 27 October to 3 November (Pacific time), and lets you create and customise up to three characters. Names are first-come, first-served and cannot be guaranteed, and the benefit applies to the WoW account the pack was bought for. Method adds that you can create characters in that period but not enter the world yet.

How do Invite-a-Friend codes work?

Stated

Codes arrive by email from 20 October; a friend can use one to play on 4–11 November 2026.

Blizzard: the Heroic pack includes one code, Epic and the Collection three in total. Codes are emailed from 20 October (Pacific time). An invitee redeems a code through Battle.net and can play WoW: Forever from 4 to 11 November without a subscription or Game Time. The codes do not include beta access and gift purchases are excluded; other restrictions apply.

WoW Forever platforms and system requirements

Where it runs and what it needs.

Do all regions launch at the same time?

Stated

Blizzard says it launches globally on 4 November 2026 at 3:00 p.m. Pacific.

Blizzard’s pre-purchase post and its What’s Next recap both say “launches globally” and give one time, 3:00 p.m. PST. Blizzard’s page lists the regions as Americas and Oceania, Europe, Korea and Taiwan (as Warcraft Tavern reproduces it). We found no separate regional launch times.

Which platforms does WoW Forever run on?

Stated

Windows and Mac.

Blizzard’s page says “Available on Windows/Mac”, and Warcraft Wiki lists Windows and macOS. We found no console version named. Warcraft Tavern, reproducing the shop page, adds that a Battle.net account and the Battle.net desktop app are required, and lists ten language options including English, Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Russian, Korean and Traditional Chinese.

Does WoW Forever work on Steam Deck?

Shown, not stated

Blizzard has not announced Steam Deck support; its page lists Windows and Mac only.

Blizzard’s World of Warcraft: Forever page says “Available on Windows/Mac”, and we found no Blizzard statement about Steam Deck or consoles. Warcraft Wiki also lists Windows and macOS only.

Still open — Any official Steam Deck statement.

What are the WoW Forever system requirements?

Shown, not stated

Minimum: Windows 10 64-bit, 4 cores at 3.0 GHz, 8 GB RAM, a 4 GB DirectX 12 GPU and an SSD with 128 GB free.

Recommended: Windows 11, 8 performance cores at 5.2 GHz boost, 16 GB RAM, an 8 GB DirectX 12 GPU and an SSD with 128 GB free. The minimum names Intel Haswell or AMD Zen CPUs and a GeForce GTX 10 series, AMD RDNA 1 or Intel Iris Xe (Lunar Lake) GPU; the recommended list names Core Ultra Series 2 or Ryzen Zen 5 and a GeForce RTX 40 series, RDNA 3 or Arc B-Series GPU. Minimum display is 1280×720 on broadband. Warcraft Tavern reproduces Blizzard’s shop listing; we could not open the shop page itself, so this is a copy. It lists Windows figures only.

Still open — Mac requirements.

How big is the WoW Forever install?

Nobody has said

No install size is published; the listed requirement is 128 GB of free SSD space.

The system requirements in Blizzard’s shop listing, as Warcraft Tavern reproduces them, ask for a solid state drive with 128 GB available for both the minimum and the recommended setup. That is a space requirement, not the size of the game.

Still open — The download and installed size.

Does WoW Forever support controllers?

Stated

Yes. Blizzard lists official gamepad support.

The What’s Next recap names “official gamepad support for players who prefer to play with a controller”. In the beta the options sat in a section labelled “Gamepad (Alpha)”, and the 15 October build added an Auto Attack/Auto Shot setting that also works with gamepad (beta). The listed minimum input is still keyboard and mouse.

WoW Forever beta and stress test

Beta facts are labelled beta.

When did the WoW Forever beta start and end?

Stated

It began on 17 September 2026 and the servers close on 23 October at 17:00 UTC.

Blizzard’s beta post says testing ran “through October 21, the last full day of testing”, a date that predates the later closing time. On 20 October a Blizzard community manager wrote that the beta goes offline for the 21 October stress test, then reopens, and that Blizzard plans to close it “forever at 10:00 a.m. PDT on Friday, October 23”, which is 17:00 UTC. The pre-purchase terms still print 21 October as the end date. Blizzard Watch’s roadmap prints 22 October, a day later than the date in the pre-purchase terms, and Warcraft Tavern’s beta guide prints 23 October, matching the forum post. Beta access came with the Epic pack and the Collection.

Was the beta open in every region?

Shown, not stated

No. Method reports the beta ran in only one region.

Method’s guide (a site, not a Blizzard statement) on choosing a name and ruleset says the beta was in a single region and that launch uses the normal regions.

Was there a queue on the first day of the beta?

Stated

Yes. Blizzard staff said on 17 September that many people were waiting to get in.

A staff post on the opening day said “We’re seeing a lot of people waiting to get into the Beta” and that the team was working through a couple of final issues; a later post called it a smooth and slow opening of the doors. Players posted queues of several thousand, for example 9k and then 17k in one thread title, but those are player reports, not Blizzard figures. Blizzard’s Deep Dive recap says the realmless design is meant to lessen the tradeoff between long queues and lasting communities.

Still open — Launch-day capacity and queue length.

What was the 21 October stress test?

Stated

A few hours on regional production hardware, open to any WoW account, after which all characters were wiped (beta).

Blizzard’s stress test post moved it to 21 October from 19 October and said no subscription, Game Time, invitation or beta access was needed. It started at 2:00 p.m. PDT in North America and 19:00 CEST in Europe. The beta went offline shortly before, and all test characters, names and guilds were wiped before Name Reservation opened on 27 October.

Which client build is WoW Forever on?

Shown, not stated

The beta client is 1.60.1; Warcraft Wiki lists build 70374 (12 October 2026).

Warcraft Wiki (not Blizzard) lists this beta build, and the number changes with each update. Classic Era is a separate product at 1.15.9. The launch build number may differ and is not published yet.

Still open — The launch build.

Where can I read what changed between beta builds?

Stated

In Blizzard’s Beta Development Notes thread on the official forums.

The thread was last updated on 15 October. It lists builds of 24 September, 1 October (level cap 30), 8 October (City of Dalaran available) and 15 October (racial ability changes). All of it describes the beta.

How WoW Forever plays: level cap, flying, addons

Level cap, items, addons.

What is the WoW Forever level cap?

Stated

60.

Blizzard’s recap describes the journey as levels 1–60, and the dungeon list runs up to level 60; Shaper’s Terrace is listed at 58–60. The recap also rules out flying and level scaling. We found no Blizzard statement on whether the cap could rise later.

Still open — Whether the cap could ever rise.

Is there flying in WoW Forever?

Stated

No. Blizzard’s What’s Next recap says WoW Forever has no flying mounts.

The same recap says there is no level scaling and lists the new regions, nine new dungeons and a 15v15 battleground. Zephras Isle, the Skyborne starting island, floats in the sky, but players leave it by airship to reach Dalaran or Mulgore, according to Warcraft Wiki.

Does WoW Forever have level scaling?

Stated

No. Blizzard’s What’s Next recap states there is no level scaling anywhere in the world.

Zones and dungeons keep their own level ranges: Blizzard’s dungeons post gives a fixed range for each of the nine new dungeons, such as 13–18 for Hall of Thanes. The same recap also rules out flying mounts.

How is WoW Forever different from Classic Era?

Stated

It is a separate product with its own client and new content, including a new race, new dungeons and reworked itemization.

Forever’s beta client was 1.60.1 while Classic Era is 1.15.9. Blizzard describes new zones, nine new dungeons, Legacy, camping and Skyborne. Kris Zierhut said Expertise replaces weapon skill and hit and crit ratings are no longer split.

Why don’t item stats show in WoW Forever?

Said on record

Blizzard hides them on purpose, until an item drops.

Josh Greenfield (Aggrend) told MMORPG.com, as reported by Method: “we’re actually obfuscating all items in the game. So you will not see an item’s stats until it drops for you, until it drops for someone on your server.” Blizzard has not published how many items stay hidden.

Still open — How many items remain hidden at launch.

What is best-in-slot gear in WoW Forever?

Nobody has said

Nobody outside Blizzard knows yet.

Item stats are hidden on purpose, so gear rankings published before launch cannot rest on what Blizzard has shown players. Item databases elsewhere are built by mining client files, which we do not use.

Still open — Which items are best at launch and later.

Will there be a PTR for WoW Forever raids?

Said on record

No. Greenfield said raids will not get a public test realm.

The same interview says there will be no PTR for raids and that the dungeon journal will not be there at the start: “You won’t know what raid bosses you’re going to fight until you go in.”

Is there a dungeon journal at launch?

Said on record

Not at launch, according to Blizzard designer Josh Greenfield as reported by Method.

Greenfield said, in an interview Method summarised, that all items are obfuscated so stats show only once an item drops, and that there will be no PTR for new raids and no dungeon journal at first. Players will not know raid bosses before entering.

Still open — Whether a journal is added later.

Does WoW Forever have transmog?

Stated

Yes. Blizzard describes transmogrification as an opt-in system with account-wide collections.

Blizzard’s Deep Dive recap says transmog is opt-in, and the What’s Next recap lists it alongside HD and SD models and Classic or modern visual presets. The Epic pack and the Collection include an Outdoor Wear transmog set.

Can WoW Forever characters have last names?

Stated

Yes. Every character has two names, and the full pair must be unique within a region.

Blizzard’s name article checks uniqueness across the whole region, not only inside one ruleset. Names must follow the in-game code of conduct, and a restricted word split across both names can still be refused. The second name can be hidden in the world through the nameplate options.

Are addons allowed in WoW Forever?

Shown, not stated

Yes, but with restrictions in step with retail.

Kami Labs reports that addon restrictions match those on retail’s current interface. Read Blizzard’s own addon rules before relying on a specific addon.

Still open — Which exact restrictions apply at launch.

WoW Forever classes and talents

Nine classes, fifty-one points.

Which classes are in WoW Forever?

Stated

Nine: Druid, Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock and Warrior.

Blizzard published Class Deep Dive posts covering all nine, in five articles.

How many talent points do you get?

Shown, not stated

51 at level 60 if you get one point per level from level 10 (our count).

Blizzard states that talents begin at level 10 and that milestone talents sit at 11, 16, 21 and 31 points. It does not state the total. One point per level from 10 to 60 is 51 points; that is our arithmetic, not a Blizzard figure.

Still open — Blizzard’s stated total.

At what level do talents unlock?

Stated

Level 10, with milestone talents at 11, 16, 21 and 31 points.

Blizzard’s Priest and Warrior and Paladin deep dives say talents become available at level 10. One-point milestone talents arrive at 11, 21 and 31 points, joined by a new 16-point milestone. Talents, Legacy talents included, are changed at a class trainer in a major city.

What are the 11, 16, 21 and 31 point talents?

Stated

Talents that unlock at those point totals. The 16-point tier is new in Forever.

Blizzard’s recap names 11, 21 and 31 as milestone totals and adds a new 16. Examples: Arcane Blast returns as an 11-point Mage talent, and the Paladin’s Twist of Light is a 31-point talent.

When do you get dual specialization?

Stated

At level 40, according to Blizzard’s Class Deep Dives.

Blizzard’s Priest and Warrior and Hunter and Druid deep dives give level 40 for Dual Specialization. Talents, Legacy talents included, are changed at a class trainer in a major city. Class abilities and talents may keep changing, so check the deep dives again at launch.

How do I respec my talents?

Stated

Visit a class trainer in a major city. Dual specialization arrives at level 40.

Blizzard’s Hunter and Druid deep dive says talents, Legacy talents included, are changed at a class trainer in a major city. Warcraft Wiki lists dual spec at level 40 for 10 gold, free swapping out of combat, and a respec fee that falls over time to 1 gold for each spec. The trainer rule is Blizzard’s; the fees are the wiki’s.

Still open — The respec cost at launch.

Can a Shaman tank in WoW Forever?

Stated

Enhancement Shaman keep the ability to serve as a temporary tank in small groups, says Blizzard.

The Mage and Shaman deep dive says an Enhancement talent helps Shaman manage threat now that their damage is competitive, “while also retaining their unique ability to generate high threat and serve as a temporary tank in small group gameplay”. Method’s leveling guide says not to be afraid to tank dungeons as a Shaman if you have a one-hander and a shield (beta).

Can Shamans dual wield in WoW Forever?

Nobody has said

We found no Blizzard statement that Shaman can dual wield.

The Mage and Shaman deep dive does not mention dual wield for Shaman; it lists Two-Handed Axes and Maces as baseline abilities. The Priest and Warrior deep dive does name a Dual Wield Specialization talent for Warriors, so the posts do cover dual wield where it applies.

Still open — Whether Shaman can wield two one-handed weapons at launch.

How do I get Cat Form as a Druid?

Shown, not stated

At level 20 through a short quest chain, according to Method’s Druid guide (beta).

Method lists Cat Form at level 20: “The Great Cat Spirit” for Night Elves and Tauren, and “The Great Windborne Cat Spirit” for Skyborne on Zephras Isle. It lists Aquatic Form at level 16. The level is not in Blizzard’s Hunter and Druid deep dive.

Still open — Launch-build quest and level.

What changed for Hunter pets?

Stated

Pets scale with the Hunter’s gear, Foxes are a new family, and every family gets a unique ability.

Blizzard: pets get stats from the Hunter’s gear and cannot take player stat buffs; Foxes join with Trickster’s Dance; every family learns Bite or Claw and Dive or Dash; each has one unique ability, such as Bat Sonic Blast. In the beta, Tame Beast stopped working on beasts above the Hunter’s level (24 September build) and Aggressive Mode returned in the pet tab (1 October build).

What changed for Paladins?

Stated

A new ability, Holy Strike at 6, Seal of Fury at 10, baseline Consecration at 20 and a 20-minute Lay on Hands.

Blizzard’s Paladin deep dive also describes Seal Twisting through the 31-point talent Twist of Light.

What changed for Mages and Shamans?

Stated

Arcane Blast returns as an 11-point Mage talent; Maelstrom Weapon is a new Enhancement talent.

Blizzard’s Mage and Shaman deep dive also covers Mage hybrid schools and Shaman totems and weapon imbues. For cast times, Lightning Bolt ranks 4 and up fall from 3 seconds to 2.5 seconds, and Chain Lightning from 2.5 seconds to 2 seconds, with spell power coefficients lowered to match.

Did Druids lose Tiger’s Fury?

Stated

In the beta, yes: the 1 October build removed it (beta).

Blizzard’s 1 October development notes removed Tiger’s Fury from the beta. The same build made Bear Form critical hits give +75% Rage. These are beta notes and may not match launch; the Hunter and Druid deep dive is Blizzard’s published description of the class.

Still open — Whether it returns by launch.

How does Rage generation work for Warriors?

Stated

Rage comes from damage dealt, scaled by weapon speed, and from damage taken; critical hits add 75% more (beta).

Blizzard’s Priest and Warrior deep dive says Rage from dealing damage is now normalised to the speed of the weapon, that criticals give 75% more Rage than non-critical hits (re-added after the launch beta gave none), and that Rage from taking damage ignores Armor. Blizzard also noted Rage bugs in the beta. Beta values; launch may differ.

Still open — Launch values.

WoW Forever races and the Skyborne race

Skyborne and the new combinations.

What is the Skyborne race?

Stated

A new race on both factions: High Order Skyborne (Alliance) and Windshaper Skyborne (Horde).

Blizzard’s recap: Horde Skyborne can be Shaman and Alliance Skyborne Mage; both may be Warrior, Hunter, Rogue or Druid. The variant names come from Warcraft Wiki.

Is Skyborne free or part of a pack?

Stated

Part of a pack: any of the three packs unlocks the Skyborne race and its Zephras Isle start.

Blizzard’s pre-purchase post lists access to the Skyborne race and the Zephras Isle starting experience in the Heroic pack, and Epic and the Collection include everything in Heroic. Blizzard’s page adds that access to the race or the Zephras Isle questline requires the Heroic pack or a higher edition. Method calls the race a separate purchase.

Still open — Whether Skyborne can be unlocked another way after launch.

Which race and class combinations are new?

Stated

Six: Gnome Priest, Human Hunter, Dwarf Shaman, Orc Mage, Troll Warlock and Undead Paladin.

Blizzard’s Deep Dive recap names these six and says more are planned for future updates.

WoW Forever rulesets and realms

No realms, five rulesets.

Which rulesets does WoW Forever have?

Stated

Five: Normal, PvP, Roleplaying, Roleplay-PvP and Hardcore, which arrives sometime after launch.

Blizzard’s ruleset article, updated on 22 October, says the Roleplay-PvP ruleset now arrives with launch on 4 November, and Blizzard plans to offer it with Early Name Reservation from 27 October. The first version of the article named four rulesets. No Roleplay-PvP rules are published yet.

Still open — The rules of Roleplay-PvP, such as faction limits and flagging.

Can I change my ruleset later?

Stated

No. A character’s ruleset can’t be changed.

Blizzard’s ruleset article says you cannot freely hop between rulesets; to play under another one you create a new character. The one exception arrives with Hardcore: a Hardcore character that dies can transfer to another ruleset, PvP included.

Can I play both factions on the PvP ruleset?

Stated

No. On PvP you can create characters for one faction only; the other rulesets allow both.

Blizzard’s ruleset article: once you create an Alliance character on the PvP ruleset you cannot create a Horde one there, and the reverse. On Normal, Roleplaying and Hardcore you can create characters from both factions. The PvP ruleset also gets faction-balance systems like those Season of Discovery introduced.

Does WoW Forever have realms?

Stated

No. It is realmless: rulesets take the place of realms.

Blizzard’s ruleset article describes rulesets per region instead of a realm list: four at first, five since its October update.

Can I group with players on another ruleset?

Stated

No. Blizzard says cross-ruleset grouping is not supported.

Players can group, run dungeons and raid only with others on the same ruleset. Battlegrounds are the exception: they may include players from other rulesets, but Hardcore stays separate. Factions also stay separate, so Horde and Alliance players still cannot group together.

Can Horde and Alliance group together in WoW Forever?

Stated

No. Horde and Alliance players still cannot group together in WoW Forever.

Blizzard’s ruleset article says the faction boundary stays, which keeps the war in Warcraft. On top of that, grouping, dungeons and raids are limited to players on the same ruleset. On the PvP ruleset you can only create characters for one faction.

Do battlegrounds mix players from different rulesets?

Stated

Yes, except Hardcore. Battlegrounds may include players from other rulesets.

Dungeons and raids do not mix rulesets, because Blizzard says cross-ruleset grouping is not supported. Battlegrounds are the stated exception, and Hardcore stays separate even there. Blizzard also describes a new 15v15 battleground on the Darkspear Islands.

How do I find players who speak my language in WoW Forever?

Stated

Set a Preferred Online Language in the game options; it is account-wide.

Press Escape, choose Options, then Languages and Social under System, and pick your language under Preferred Online Language. Blizzard says the setting applies to all characters on the account and has a 24-hour cooldown before you can change it again. It helps you meet players who share that preference.

When does Hardcore arrive?

Shown, not stated

After launch. Warcraft Wiki puts it in winter 2026/2027.

Blizzard’s What’s Next recap lists Hardcore on the post-launch roadmap without a date. The winter 2026/2027 timing comes from Warcraft Wiki, not from a Blizzard sentence we could quote.

Still open — The exact date.

What is shared across my account?

Stated

Collections and Legacy Points, with Hardcore handled differently.

Blizzard’s ruleset article says Collections and Legacy Points are account-wide across rulesets. Progress, collections and rewards earned in Hardcore can become available elsewhere, but progress from the other rulesets does not flow back into Hardcore.

WoW Forever Legacy system

Account progress.

What is the Legacy system?

Stated

Account-wide challenges that earn points to spend on perks.

Blizzard lists 65 challenges: Classes 27, Tradeskills 18, PvP 12, Adventure 2, Dungeons 3, Raids 3. There are 3 perk trees and 4 launch rewards.

How many Legacy points can I spend?

Stated

Up to 16 per character. Earned points are shared across characters.

Blizzard says 29 are reachable on one character, and up to 65 across alts, spent per character.

When does Legacy unlock?

Stated

At your first Legacy point: level 25, 150 skill in a non-gathering profession, or a fully explored world map.

Blizzard’s Legacy article lists these three routes to your first point and so to the system. Points are earned account-wide and spent per character, up to 16 on each.

How do I reset my Legacy points?

Stated

At a class trainer in a major city, the place where you change talents.

Blizzard’s deep dives say talents, Legacy talents included, are changed at a class trainer in a major city. Warcraft Wiki says each character fills in and respecs its own Legacy trees at class trainers while the points are earned account-wide. Blizzard’s Legacy article gives the cap of 16 spendable points per character but no reset cost.

Still open — The cost of a Legacy respec.

Is there anything Legacy-related for Hardcore?

Stated

Yes. 12 Hardcore-specific challenges are planned for later.

Blizzard’s Legacy article says PvP challenges cannot be done in Hardcore, which is why 12 Hardcore-specific challenges are planned. Challenges done outside Hardcore do not show in Hardcore, while a challenge earned in Hardcore counts in every other ruleset.

WoW Forever zones, dungeons, raids and PvP

Zones, dungeons, PvP.

What is camping?

Stated

A campfire system: from skill 20 you place objects with a shared 1-hour cooldown.

A Basic Campfire offers 3 objects; Cook upgrades raise it to 5 and 10. Objects include Sharpening Wheel, Faction Banner, Incense Candle, Alchemy Lab and Tanning Rack.

Are there new professions or recipes?

Stated

Blizzard says 600+ new recipes.

The Deep Dive recap gives the count and does not list them all. Blizzard’s camping post adds that every character can learn all three secondary professions (Cooking, Fishing and First Aid) plus two primary ones, and that a Basic Campfire supports up to three camp features.

What new zones are there?

Sources disagree

Blizzard’s recap names four new places; whether the starting island counts as a zone is a matter of counting.

Blizzard’s What’s Next recap names Mount Hyjal, Shen’dralas, the Riverglades (more than 150 new quests, around levels 35–45) and Zephras Isle (levels 1–12, the starting island). Some outlets count three zones plus the island, others four. We found no Blizzard sentence that gives a number.

Still open — Whether Blizzard counts the starting island as a zone.

How many new dungeons are there?

Stated

Nine new five-player dungeons, for levels 13 to 60.

Blizzard’s dungeons post lists Hall of Thanes 13–18, Ruins of Lordaeron 15–20, Excavation Site 24–29, City of Dalaran 28–33, The Drowned City 35–40, Krol’dok Stronghold 40–45, Alcaz Prison 48–53, Blackmaw Hold 55–60 and Shaper’s Terrace 58–60. Warcraft Wiki lists 33 in total.

What level is Excavation Site: Wetlands?

Sources disagree

Blizzard’s dungeons post lists 24–29; its 1 October beta notes said 26–31.

The newer official table, published on 20 October, gives 24–29, which matches Warcraft Tavern’s dungeon list. The older 26–31 came from the 1 October beta development notes. We show both because Blizzard has not said the earlier notes were wrong, and ranges can still move before launch.

Still open — Final launch levels.

What level is Deadmines in Forever?

Sources disagree

Guide sites disagree: 16, 17–26, 18–24 and 17–21.

None of the four ranges comes from a Blizzard chart. Blizzard’s dungeons post covers only the nine new dungeons, so Deadmines has no official range yet. We list the disagreement instead of choosing one, and will print a range once Blizzard publishes it.

Still open — An official range.

What raids are there and when?

Stated

Barrow Deeps (10 players), Hyjal Summit (20) and Onyxia’s Lair (40), all unlocking on 9 December 2026.

Blizzard’s raid overview of 20 October says all three unlock on 9 December as level 60 raids, with 8 bosses in Barrow Deeps and 13 in Hyjal Summit. The What’s Next recap calls Barrow Deeps a maximum-level 10-player raid and Hyjal Summit a 20-player one.

Still open — Whether raids reset weekly on a fixed day: Blizzard says all raids are currently planned to reset each week but gives no day or time.

How many players and bosses are in the WoW Forever raids?

Stated

Barrow Deeps is a 10-player raid, Hyjal Summit 20 and Onyxia’s Lair 40, all for level 60.

Blizzard’s raid overview gives eight bosses for Barrow Deeps and 13 for Hyjal Summit, and a three-phase encounter for Onyxia. The post does not name the Barrow Deeps bosses. All three raids open on 9 December, and all raids are currently planned to reset each week, with no reset day or time given.

Still open — The reset day and time.

Does Onyxia’s Lair need attunement in WoW Forever?

Stated

Yes. Every raider needs the Drakefire Amulet, earned through a faction-specific attunement questline.

Blizzard’s raid overview says the amulet must be in your inventory and does not need to be equipped. The Alliance chain starts in the Burning Steppes with Dragonkin Menace; the Horde chain starts in the Badlands at Kargath with Blood and Thunder. Both end in Upper Blackrock Spire, and Blizzard advises starting early.

How do raid lockouts work in WoW Forever?

Nobody has said

We found no published lockout rules.

Raid sizes are published (Barrow Deeps 10, Hyjal Summit 20, Onyxia’s Lair 40) and raids open on 9 December. The pages we read do not say how often a raid can be cleared or on which day it resets.

Still open — The lockout length and reset day.

Is Dalaran Alliance only, and how do I get in?

Stated

In the beta the city is hostile to Horde, while the City of Dalaran dungeon stays open to both factions.

The 15 October beta notes say Horde are no longer welcome in Dalaran and are attacked on sight, which does not affect the dungeon; the Horde questline for the Dalaran Sewer Key no longer grants unrestricted access to the city (beta). Warcraft Wiki describes Dalaran as initially hostile to both factions, with Skyborne getting early friendly access and Alliance eventually welcomed after a short questline. The dungeon (levels 28–34, 5 players) is in the Alterac Mountains; one party member needs the key from the Image of Archmage Modera in Silverpine Forest after Alliance or Horde quests.

Still open — How the city behaves at launch.

How much XP do dungeons give?

Stated

In the beta, creature XP in dungeons rose by about 20% on 8 October and dungeon quest bonus XP was cut by 50% on 1 October (beta).

Beta notes of 8 October also reverted party XP for killing lower-level enemies to the Classic Era per-player calculation; Blizzard wrote that together the changes “will dramatically increase experience earned in dungeons for most players”. If a party member is far above the enemy, no one in the party gets XP. The 1 October change followed leveling-speed feedback. These are beta values; Blizzard has not published launch XP tables.

Still open — Launch values.

How does PvP progression work?

Stated

Honor is a currency and Rank Points raise your rank, up to High Warlord or Grand Marshal, with a weekly cap.

Blizzard: Honor comes from defeating players, battlegrounds and PvP quests, and buys one blue and one epic PvP set; the epic piece needs the blue piece plus an Emboldened Seal with rank requirements. Rank Points come from battlegrounds and PvP quests, ranks run to 14 in the reward table, and each PvP season has weekly tasks, three of which also grant a Legacy Point. Darkspear Islands is a new 15v15 battleground.

WoW Forever roadmap and this site

What comes next.

What is on the 2027 roadmap?

Shown, not stated

Spring: two raids, two dungeons, a zone, a legendary questline and a PvP refresh. Summer: a revamped iconic raid, a new raid and more.

Blizzard Watch’s reading of the roadmap image lists, for spring 2027, two new raids (10 and 20 players), two dungeons, new quests and a zone, a legendary questline and a PvP season refresh; for summer 2027 a revamped iconic raid, a new raid, expanded world content, two dungeons, a PvP refresh and Profession and Legacy updates. Blizzard Watch says these windows can move. Blizzard’s own recap names Hardcore, more raids, dungeons and PvP updates without dates.

Still open — Specific dates.

Is WoW Forever down? Where is the server status?

Nobody has said

We show no live status.

Blizzard publishes no Forever data namespace we can read, so a status display would be a guess. Use Blizzard’s official channels.

Still open — Whether a status feed appears after launch.

Why doesn’t this site have a talent calculator yet?

Stated

We only use Blizzard’s published text and what we see in the game; Blizzard’s EULA forbids mining client files.

EULA section 1.C.vi forbids mining game information. We use Blizzard posts and what we see in the game.